Saturday, April 23, 2011

Gutierrez's prosecutors named

Gutierrez's prosecutors named*

April 21, 2011

THE House of Representatives has named the 11 congressmen who will serve as prosecutors in the impeachment case against Ombudsman Merceditas Gutierrez.

The team of prosecutors will be led by Iloilo Rep. Neil Tupas who will preside over his fellow-congressmen-lawyers Rep. Erin Tañada (Quezon), Rep. Rodolfo Fariñas (Ilocos Sur), Rep. Feredico Quimbo (Cavite), Rep. Elpidio Bargaza (Oriental Mindoro), Rep. Reynaldo Umali (Oriental Mindoro), Rep. Arlene Bag-ao (Akbayan), Rep. Joseph Emilio Abaya (Cavite), Rep. Magtanggol Gunigundo (Valenzuela City), Rep. Raul Daza (Northern Samar) and Bayan Muna Rep. Neri Colmenares. Colmenares will be handling the euro-generals case.

Meanwhile, the Bagong Alyansang Makabayan (BAYAN) called on Congress to choose competent private prosecutors in order to ensure Gutierrez's conviction. The National Union of People's Lawyers (NUPL) has pledged to provide assistance.

BAYAN has called a meeting of various sectors to prepare for protest actions against Gutierrez and legal measures to remove her from her post.

Gutierrez's impeachment trial will be held as soon as the Senate and Lower House resume their sessions on May 9.

* Url:;lang=eng;article=18